Day late not a dinner short

Saturday we had the most awesome dinner.  I don’t know exactly how Ken did it, but he did.  We were trying to impress my team leader and her husband Pam and Dennis when they came to our house for dinner.  We love to entertain, but we always pull something new together when we have new guest to our house.  Ken loves for people to talk about his cooking and his great hostess skills HEHE. 

So he went to the store and picked up everything he needed for the meal and a few things I had already bought.(so much for the list)  He opened up the wine and we did a taste test, THANK GOODNESS,  because the first bottle was horrible.  It was turning or something.  At first I thought it was just me, I am picky about the wine I like, but then Ken mentioned that I had this particular one before and enjoyed it.  Then he took a drink and made a face like someone slipped him a lemon.  That’s when I knew it wasn’t just my taste buds.  So one bottle gone, we moved to the next one which was a great Pinot.

After we got the wine poured for us Ken put together a wonderful salmon and cream cheese spread for the crostini, and started to prep the dinner.

When our guest arrived they had some wine and apps and we enjoyed some great conversation.  First course was a nice salad with heirloom tomatoes and then Ken brought out the main dish and OHMYGOSH was it good!!

Ken got a wonderful halibut and baked that with just a little salt and pepper and some olive oil.  Then he put together a white wine reduction with crab in it to go over the fish.  IT WAS AMAZING!!!  He did make the merrell risotto again which was even better this time (sorry Nikki, next time will really rock) He also grilled up some portabella mushroom, red and yellow peppers and onions.  To say the least I know I ate way more than I should have, Dennis Cleared his plate and so did Ken.  We paired the meal with an Oregan Pinot.

We all ate so much at dinner that we just put out a few girl scout cookies for dessert and contunied with our wine and great converstation.  The night ended with sharing some of our favorite funny u-tube videos. 

Thanks you for reading and I would love to hear from you.  I would also like to hear what some of your favorite recipes are.   Wouldn’t it be cool if I blogged your recipe next time?

Leave a Reply

